Well, why don’t you meet artist Phaedra Peer?

We love the bold colours and beautiful women that star in the art of Phaedra Peer.  She has had many exhibitions since graduating from Brighton Art College and we can’t wait to see more.  Phaedra tells us more about her inspiration and what she has in store for the next year…

1.  Tell us about yourself, have you always wanted to be an artist?

Yes, I would say I have always been an artist. I’ve been doodling hearts and flowers for as long as I can remember and they are still prolific in my work. I didn’t much like art at school as I always had such strong ideas of the kind of art I wanted to create, which rarely correlated with what the course was dictating. I’ve been painting for years now but the first year after I left uni I tried to hold down a conventional 9-5 job with a steady income and I was honestly miserable. When I’m not doing art it’s like there’s a hole in my heart.

2. Where do you find your inspiration?

Everywhere! I love painting beautiful faces so I spend a lot of time scouring the internet and magazines for gorgeous girls which is actually quite depressing! I’m obsessed with Disney and fairytales so I find inspiration often in children’s book illustraions. I love a good quote or song lyric and often shape images around that. I’m a sucker for anything girly like butterflies or glitter but then am also drawn to quite dark stuff really and find the intersection of these fixations quite interesting to depict.  

3. Do you have a favourite painting of yours?

I really love my Kurt Cobain painting. It’s on loan at pure evil gallery and it’s the only work I actually miss. When I get it back it will definitely be hung in my bedroom..he was great. I also really like my Freddie Mercury portrait but again that’s probably just as it depicts someone I idolise so massively. I don’t think I feel overly attached to any images of the nameless girls portrayed for their beauty, but I’ve got a few celeb deity like homages that won’t ever be for sale!

4. What plans do you have for the future?

Me and my friend are opening a 3 story shop in Brighton which is going to be a coalition of fashion and art so currently I’m working on a series to fill that space- it will be open from April. I studied art in Brighton so can’t wait to be working and creating down there one more. Long term I would love to have my own gallery, there’s so many amazing artists I aspire to connect with and love the idea of curating a show with all my favourite hand-picked art.

5. Where can we find you online?

My website is www.phaedrapeer.com and my blog, which is more up to date, is www.phaedrahannah.tumblr.com

Leave a Reply

