Well why don’t you follow the artist, Elise Wehle?

This week’s “follow Friday” artist is the Utah based, Elise Wehle.  Her work is part print, part collage, part paper cutting, and part print making all which layer themselves together to create impressive work.

“I make the art I do to pull me away from the increasingly digital world that surrounds me. Every day I spend so much time in front of a glowing screen that sometimes I forget I possess five bodily senses and not just one or two. Making art makes me conscious of my hands again, and all of my work requires time-intensive, redundant movements that remind me that not everything is as instantaneous as a click of a mouse. By weaving together paper, cutting lines, and folding shapes, I manipulate drawings, photos, and prints to create new landscapes for me to explore.” Elise Wehle

Well said!  I can definitely relate to moments where I feel like a mindless clicking robot.  Art is an excellent way for me to disconnect from the machines.  What is it for you?

*amended earlier post, Elise is from Utah NOT California.  Sorry!

Seaside
 To Lie in The Green Pastures
Girl Looks Back

Where the Land Ends

The Woman Bouguereau Painted

2 thoughts on “Well why don’t you follow the artist, Elise Wehle?

  1. Thank you so much for featuring me and also for your kind words! And don’t fret, I’m originally from California. I’m just currently living in Utah, so you’re right either way 🙂

Leave a Reply

