Well, why don’t you meet Desirae Samantha?

We are in love with the urban art of Desirae Samantha, it has a bold yet feminine feel to it.  I’ve just ordered one of her prints and founds a place to hang it already.  We got the chance to talk to her an  can’t wait to see her portraits in her Solo Show in May this year, definitely a date to put in the diary…find out more here

1. Tell us about yourself, have you always wanted to be an artist?

I always have a hard time explaining myself just because my interests are all over. I design for a living, I paint for a hobby, I ride dirt bikes, snowmobiles and wakesurf for fun and I represent a few amazing brands that share my love for all of the above. Being an artist has always been the constant, ever since I was a little girl. I knew I was going to do something creative I just wasn’t sure what.

2. Where do you find your inspiration?

Everything I paint is something I love or appreciate – tattoos, motorcycles, sailing, pirates – I appreciate beautiful things. Once I get an idea in my head I source out some references and piece it together to create something original and unique. I love finding new artists and get excited about their work and figuring out what I can learn from them. I’m also really inspired by people who are driven to reach their goals. The ones who don’t ever seem to slow down…keeps me going.

3. Do you have a favourite painting of yours?

I feel like every new painting turns into my favorite…like the one I just did on a wood panel. It just seems so raw and free. But I think if there was one I just couldn’t let go of it’s my sailor.

4. tell us a little about your process, how do you create your amazing artworks?

My work starts with an idea or a rough sketch which I then draw onto the material I’m working on – wood, canvas, metal. From there, I start pushing paint. Layer upon layer until it finally reaches what I have in my head. I try to put a little piece of myself into each painting whether it’s the subject itself or a hidden element. My paintings are a reflection of myself. I work mainly with acrylic and spray paint but sometimes throw in some other mediums.

5. What plans do you have for the future?

I have a solo show in May at a local shop and am planning for my own solo show early August. Tattooing is on the list as well and I just got my practice skins in – which I’m super excited about. My “into the future” goals which I’m still trying to figure out how to go about are to collaborate with a few clothing companies and to ultimately be a full time, successful artist!

6. Where can we find you online?

Twitter/Instagram: @desirae201

facebook.com/desiraesamantha

www.desiraesamantha.com

I’d also like to thank the companies that have been behind me in both racing and art – FXR Racing, Vitaly Design and Metal Mulisha Maidens.

Leave a Reply

