Well, why don’t you meet Chanel Talbot?

I’ve been a long time fan of travelling and spent a fair amount of time working in different countries before starting up as an artist.  The photographs and free spirit of Chanel Talbot have really got us in the mood to start travelling again.  She captures the atmosphere perfectly, we were thrilled to find out how she started…

1926281_10152003052540848_1194062882_o

Tell us about yourself, how did you get into photography?
My name is Chanel Talbot and I’m currently studying Visual Arts and Anthropology at Boise State University. 
I became interested in photography when I took my first digital photo class in high school. Some of my work was selected to be showcased in an art exhibition that was featured on Boise State campus, and I’ve been hooked ever since.
You do a lot of travel photography, have your travels been a big inspiration behind your work?
Traveling has definitely been my biggest inspiration. To me, nothing is more enthralling and inspiring than visiting new places and experiencing unfamiliar foods, cultures, languages, etc. I’m just not someone who is content with a sedentary lifestyle – whether it’s traveling to Thailand, going on a road trip, or taking a hike in the foothills, I always get restless and need to be out somewhere and taking photos.
We love your blog and how you tie in your style with your photography, what plans do you have for your blog in the future?
I have a few road trips that are coming up within the next couple months, one to California, the second to Utah, and then a camping trip in Oregon. I’m also planning on going back to Bangkok for a month or two over the summer. I’ll be taking photos of everything along the way like I usually do, and then posting about my travels on my blog. You can also expect some upcoming posts regarding natural beauty alternatives and healthy eating.
Where is your favourite place you have visited and what impact has this had on you creatively?
Thailand definitely holds a special place in my heart – It’s the first foreign country I ever traveled to. The people there predominantly practice Buddhism, so while I was there I tried to immerse myself into the Buddhist lifestyle. I went to as many temples as I could, participated in the festivals, started meditating, taking yoga classes, and reading more about Buddhist philosophy. All these things opened my mind and helped me look at the world from a new perspective, which revealed a whole new realm of creativity for me. Thailand’s fascinating culture and beautiful landscapes are also what made me realize that I wanted to focus on travel and nature photography.
Do you have a favourite photograph of yours?
My favorite photograph that I’ve taken so far is a portrait that I took of a Buddhist monk after he gave me and boyfriend a blessing, while visiting the little island of Ko Si Chang in Thailand. I find it ironic that a portrait is my favorite photograph, because I personally don’t feel like portraits are my strength in photography. But it’s mostly the memory behind the photograph that makes it so special to me.
What magazine would be your dream to work with?
Like probably every other travel/nature photography one in the world, my ultimate dream job would be to photograph for National Geographic someday! 
Where can we find you online?
You can find me and my photography on my blog, thebohemianlifestyle.com, where you can also find links to my Instagram and other social networking sites.
bangkok-9 bangkok-11 Bangkok.Temple-3 DSC_0995 copy Sedona.Nature-5
Leave a Reply

