Well, why don’t you look in the studio of Artist John A Sargent?

I love getting newsletters from Saatchi Art Online.  This week the studio of Artist John A Sargent caught my eye.  I wanted to share his stories of his studio life with some great pictures …

Prefer to work with music or in silence?

I am always in motion when I work, usually standing, so there is a kind of dance that is already occurring. Music is a huge part of my life, as I am also a so-so musician. I usually start with the music on; but if I am really in the work I am not very aware of much else…so it can get very silent.

If you could only have one piece of art in your life, what would it be?

That is an impossible question to answer. There is the childish work of my son, for absolute freedom. There is a portrait of my family I created that I hold very dear. There are works by Old Masters that I covet, but to say which one at any given time changes with the thoughts of the day, or the moment. I do have a pretty good copy of the Mona Lisa I did in the early nineties that hangs in our breakfast nook as a shrine, with Christmas lights…it was that or a soup can… kind of a joke about art and life.

Who are your favorite writers?

I used to read lots of philosophy, and modernist literature about physics, the universe, and quantum mechanics. It was all pretty heady and I got what I got. Currently I am reading biographies about the American founding fathers.

Leave a Reply

